Travel Insurance

We have repeated time and again the importance of travel insurance, especially when joining adventurous features in Nepal. Nepal has all sorts of outdoor activities, from mountaineering and trekking to rafting, bungee jumping, paragliding, canoeing, etc. 

As thrilling as these activities are, they are equally dangerous if not done under the proper guidance. And sometimes, even with proper guidance, things can take a turn, and one can get hurt. So, it is essential to have travel insurance to back you up in an emergency in a foreign country. 

Unseen situations like landslides, avalanches, altitude sickness, accidents, unstable weather, and so on can result in unavoidable circumstances. Therefore, we request all of our guests to have travel insurance. 

The Himalayan Rescue Association and Nepal Mountaineering Association manage some part of the insurance in Kathmandu. However, depending entirely upon these organizations cannot be enough in extreme situations, so you are also advised to be in touch with the embassy or international organizations that can give you an insurance facility. 

Some of our strenuous trekking and most of the climbing/mountaineering packages mandatory require travel insurance with a rescue and evacuation policy. Do know that, without travel insurance or the promise of a cash deposit in Kathmandu, rescue services rarely come to aid. 

You can get minor insurance in Nepal for personal belongings, luggage, and travel documents. Likewise, foreigners cannot take out major insurance in Nepal, therefore you have to get one in your own country.
 

Canada

RBC Travel Insurance www.rbcinsurance.com/travelinsurance

TuGo Travel Insurance www.tugo.com

Can Assistance www.canassistance.com

TIC Travel Insurance www.travelinsurance.ca

America

Travelex Insurance www.travelexinsurance.com

World nomads / Trip mate USA service.worldnomads.com

Travel Safe Insurance www.travelsafe.com

AXA Travel Insurance www.axa-assistance.us/bassline.php?p=1741

Travel Insured International www.travelinsured.com

Allianz Travel Insurance www.allianztravelinsurance.com

Blue Cross Blue Shield www.bcbs.com

United Kingdom

InsureandGo Travel Insurance www.insureandgo.com/travel-insurance

Virgin Travel Insurance uk.virginmoney.com/virgin/travel-insurance/

Post Office www.postoffice.co.uk/insurance

Dog Tag Insurance (UK) www.dogtag.co.uk

Europe

Europe Assistance (All European) www.europ-assistance.com/en

Allianz Travel Insurance (Germany, Switzerland) www.allianztravelinsurance.com/

Uniqa Insurance (Austria) www.uniqa.ch/home/

Asia & Middle East

Clal Insurance (Israel) www.clalbit.co.il

Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance (Japan) www.ms-ins.com/english/

Life Card Travel Insurance (Japan)

Sompo Insurance (Japan) www.sjnk.co.jp/english/

Australia

International SOS www.internationalsos.com

Allianz Travel Insurance www.allianztravelinsurance.com

QBE Travel Insurance www.qbe.com.au/Personal/Leisure-Travel/Insurance.html

Budget Direct Travel Insurance www.budgetdirect.com.au/travel-insurance.html

1Cover Travel Insurance (New Zealand) www.1cover.com

Aussietravelcover www.aussietravelcover.com.au

 

DECLARATION: These companies were recommended by our previous travelers and are for recommendation purposes only.

It is always better to be safe than sorry, especially in the Himalayas!