Visa Information

For most travelers, Nepal has an on-arrival visa available at the Tribhuvan International Airport. Likewise, if you are entering Nepal via one of its borders (from India or Tibet), then you can get a visa at the immigration entry point. 

*Note: If you are a citizen of Iraq, Ethiopia, Liberia, Palestine, Nigeria, Ghana, Afghanistan, Cameroon, Swaziland, Zimbabwe, or Somalia, then you cannot obtain a visa at the immigration entry points of Nepal.

What do you need to obtain a Nepal visa?

The followings are the requirements to acquire a visa at the airport or immigration entry points:

  • You will need to show a valid passport that should have a validity of at least six months
  • You have to fill out the visa application form at the airport or immigration entry points
  • Two passport-size photos
  • Visa fees in cash

Visa Fees

  • USD 30 or equivalent Nepali currency for 15 days
  • USD 50 or equivalent Nepali currency for 30 days
  • USD 125 or equivalent Nepali currency for 90 days
  • For the tourist of SAARC nationals, free visa for up to 30 days
  • Indian nationals do not need a visa to enter Nepal. However, if you (an Indian citizen) enter via flight you have to show a valid identification certificate (passport/citizenship certificate). Kids under the age of 10 do not need to present an identification certificate

Visa Extension

  • To extend the visa for 15 days or less, it will cost USD 30 or equivalent Nepali currency.
  • To extend the visa for 15 days or more, it will cost USD 30 or equivalent Nepali currency for the first 15 days. Similarly, USD 2 or equivalent Nepali currency will be charged each day after that. You can extend the visa up to a maximum of 150 days in a visa year (starting January to December).

Transit Visa

If you have a transit point at Nepal's airport or get forced to land at Nepal's airport because of any reason, then you can get a transit visa for a day by paying USD 5 or any other equivalent currency. 

Other General Information

  • You cannot enter Nepal or stay here without a valid visa. It is illegal.
  • You can also get a tourist visa through the Nepalese embassy or consulate, or other mission offices in your country.
  • Visa fees are non-refundable. Once the visa is issued, it cannot be revised.
  • You cannot pay Nepal's visa through a credit card or cheque. You have to pay it in cash.
  • Kids under the age of 10 do not need to pay visa charges, but they must have to get a valid visa.
  • In case of receiving a new passport or travel document, you are advised to contact the Immigration Department for the document transfer.
  • Always have your passport and trekking permit with you during the trek.
  • Do not film or take photos inside the monuments that restrict it. 
  • As a tourist, you have to respect the tradition and sentiments of the Nepalese people. Do not do any activity that would hurt the feelings of locals.

Entering in Nepal

1. By Air

Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal has 12 major international flight routes. The national flag carrier Nepal Airlines Corporation (NAC) has flights with Delhi & Mumbai in India; Shanghai in China; Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia; Dubai in the United Arab Emirates; Bangkok in Thailand; Osaka, Japan; Hong Kong, and Singapore.

Likewise, other international airlines connect Nepal to other parts of the world. They are China Airlines to Lhasa in the Tibetan Autonomous Region of China; Biman Bangladesh to Dhaka in Bangladesh; Druk Air to Paro in Bhutan; Gulf Air to Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates; Qatar Airways to Doha in Qatar; Thai International to Bangkok in Thailand; Indian Airlines to Delhi, Kolkata, and Varanasi in India. With these destinations, there are connecting flights all over Europe and the West.

2. By Road

Visitors entering Nepal via land must have a valid passport and visa, which are used at the designated entry points- Nepal-India or Nepal-China border

Entry Points of Nepal

  • Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  • Central Nepal – Birgunj, Parsa
  • Eastern Nepal – Kakarvitta, Jhapa
  • Northern Border – Kodari, Sindhupalchowk
  • Western – Rupandehi (Belhiya, Bhairahawa)
  • Mid-western – Banke (Jamuna, Nepalgunj)
  • Far western – Kailali (Mohana, Dhangadhi) & Kanchanpur (Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar)